Howard University

Ninth Annual Wiley A. Branton Symposium Protest & Polarization: Law and Debate in America 2012

Wiley A. Branton/Howard Law Journal Symposium


View Wiley A. Branton/Howard Law Journal Symposium - Six Part Videos

Thursday, November 1, 2012
Howard University School of Law
Moot Court Room | 8:30am-4:30pm

mcDougall bron norton
Opening Speaker
Harold McDougall
Professor of Law
Howard University School of Law
Keynote Speaker
Tomiko Brown-Nagin
Professor of Law
Harvard Law School and author of Courage to Dissent
Closing Speaker
Eleanor Holmes Norton

Three panels will discuss:

  • Wealth disparities
  • The state of protest and civil disobedience
  • Political polarization

Welcoming Address: 9:30AM
Featuring: Professor Harold McDougall

Panel 1: The Poor are Getting Poorer: Economic Insecurity Leads to Economic Inequality, 10:00AM -11:00AM
This panel discusses how wealth disparity has led to social unrest in the United States and what legal responses legal, or otherwise, are required.
Featuring: Dean Lisa Crooms-Robinson, Professor Andre Smith, and Professor Thomas Mitchell

Panel 2: “Protest, What Have You Done for Me Lately (… Legally)?”, 11:15AM - 12:15PM
This panel explores the role of protest in the modern-day era—Occupy Movement, union strikes, chants for Trayvon, hashtags—did these exercises of free speech lead to legal progress, or were they just episodes of public outrage?

Featuring: Professor Lenese Herbert, Maryland State Senator Jamie Raskin, and Professor Timothy Zick

Keynote Address: 1:30PM - 2:15PM
Featuring: Professor Tomiko Brown-Nagin, Author of Courage to Dissent: Atlanta and the Long History of the Civil Rights Movement

Panel 3: Us v. Them: A Case of Extreme Politics and Stifled Progress, 2:30PM - 3:45PM
This panel analyzes the growing divide in the two-party system and the resulting political stalemate. Featuring: Professor Mark Graber, Professor Guy Uriel-Charles, Professor Joel Gora, and Professor Jeffrey Rosen

Closing Speaker: 3:50PM—4:30PM
Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton, D.C. Delegate

Alphabetical List of Symposium Participants

Tomiko Brown-Nagin
Professor of Law, Harvard Law School and author of Courage to Dissent

Guy-Uriel Charles
Professor of Law, Duke University Law School and Founding Director of the Duke Law Center on Law, Race, and Politics

Lisa Crooms-Robinson
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor of Law, Howard University School of Law

Okianer Christian Dark
Howard University School of Law

Joel M. Gora
Professor of Law, Brooklyn Law School

Mark Graber
Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development and Professor of Law and Government, University of Maryland College of Law

Lenese Herbert
Visiting Professor of Law, Howard University School of Law

Harold L. McDougall
Professor of Law, Howard University School of Law

Thomas W. Mitchell
Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School

Senator Jamie Raskin
American University Washington College of Law and Director of the Law and Government Program

Jeffrey Rosen
Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School

Andre L. Smith
Associate Professor of Law, Widener Law School

Timothy Zick
Cabell Research Professor of Law, William & Mary School of Law

updated:October 22, 2012