Howard University

Goler Teal Butcher International Moot Court Team

The Howard University School of Law’s International Moot Court Team competes in some of the world’s largest and most prestigious competitions around the world. Over the past few years, its members have been recognized with various awards in several high profile competitions. Awards from recent years have included:

  • Best Team and Best Brief Awards at the Susan J. Ferrell Moot Court Competition

  • Best Oralist awards at the Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Competition

  • Best Oralist Award at the D.M. Harish Memorial International Moot Court Competition

For more information about the team please send inquiries to


Depending on the size of the team, other competitions will be selected to cover subjects related to international business and arbitration. The team sends its members to the following competitions annually:

The Foreign Direct Investment International Arbitration Moot helps future lawyers attain a practical understanding of these issues. The case and hearings offer a unique forum for academics and practitioners from around the world to discuss developments - and assess emerging talents. The FDI Moot spans approximately six months each year in two phases, written memorials for claimant and respondent and the hearing of oral argument. This year’s competition will be held in London, England at King’s College on October 29-November 2.

The Philip C. Jessup Moot Court Competition is the largest moot court competition, with participants from over 500 law schools around the world. The competition is a simulation of a fictional dispute between nations before the International Court of Justice. The first round of the competition is held in Washington, D.C., and if the team proceeds to the next round, they will travel to compete at the international rounds.

The Susan J. Ferrell Intercultural Human Rights Moot Court Competition is a simulation of a fictional dispute between nations with respect to human rights law and policy before the International Court of Justice. The competition is held in Miami, Florida.

The Stetson International Environmental Moot Court Competition is the world’s largest moot court competition devoted exclusively to global environmental issues. Founded at Stetson in 1996, the competition now includes regional rounds in Australia, Colombia, India, Ireland, Korea, the Philippines, Ukraine, and the United States, with the top teams advancing to the International Finals hosted at Stetson Law each spring. The next International Finals will be held at Stetson Law on April 13-16, 2016.

IMCT Team photo 2016-2017.jpg

2016-2017 IMCT team

2016-2017 Team Members:
Linsay Sobers
Ore Kasunmu
Chloe Sellers
Melody Temidara
Crystal Nwaogu
Chayanne Mars
Nyajuok Deng
Rachelle Alexandre

updated: August 24, 2016